Cloud Ecosystem

I don’t think I’ve ever seen an ecosystem grow as fast as the Cloud Computing Ecosystem. It’s both a great challenge and a hell for product marketeers who constantly have to stay up to date with the market.

I just browsed Jeremy Geelan of Sys-con’s list of 150 Cloud companies. In 6 months it grew from 100 to 150. He’s done a great effort – I can’t think of a better list – but still he misses quite a few important ones:

Abiquo: enterprise and isp cloud builders

Aserver: private cloud builders (and much more)

Casdex: (compliant) archival in the cloud (!)

SymetriQ: public cloud

Aicache: Web application acceleration

B-virtual: build storage clouds (dispersed storage technology)

Aptana: IDE for web app development

MokaFive: virtual desktops in the cloud

ThePlanet: cloud storage

Mozy: online BU

ZumoDrive: online storage

Dropbox: online sharing

Sugarsync (sharpcast): online backup & sync

Wuala (Lacie): online storage + social networking

Box.net: online collaboration

Drop.io: real-time sharing

Jungledisk: online storage, BU

Elephantdrive: online storage, BU etc.

Allmydata: online storage, BU etc.

And given AT&T is there, I bet every Telco will claim they belong to the list.

Don’t get me wrong, I support Jeremy’s efforts – just trying to make his case stronger: this ecosystem is growing at an immense speed!

Oh and … my list is not complete either !!!

~ by tomleyden on July 31, 2009.

One Response to “Cloud Ecosystem”

  1. This is very good Tom – “none of us is as smart as all of us” as they say. My own list is likely to be expanded soon, in the run-up to the next Cloud Computing Expo (4th one now, already, being held in November at the Santa Clara Convention Center in CA). I am guessing this time round I may need to expand the overall list to 250. I’ll be sure to include these ones! šŸ™‚

    –Jeremy G.

Leave a Reply

 
