Blogging on the plane

It’s been a busy week: we had an offsite that was actually an onsite, as it was at Menlo Park – Sun’s main offices, but still an offsite for me (for obvious reasons). With the busy I don’t specifically refer to us – although we were kind of busy working on the next steps after Sun’s CommunityOne East announcement on cloudcomputing. No, the busy refers to what happened outside that. Many people were giving their thoughts about Sun’s potential acquisition by IBM, some cloud events happened (Cloud Computing Expo) that cost more money than it was worth and there was the boycott of some large cloud vendors against an attempt towards standardization and open clouds. I was a bit too busy with the real important stuff, so I failed to read all the details online (don’t go shooting me if I got it all wrong 🙂 ) But if I understand the whole situation well though, some large vendors like Microsoft, Amazon and Google (Salesforce.com too?) opposed against an attempt by some cloud enthusiasts – backed up by a couple of cloud vendors including Sun – for all kind of reasons. No need to dig into those reasons as they would say anything they consider smart marketing talks. I know marketing when I see marketing The way I see it though, it is not all that dramatical. At previous CloudCamps we’ve heard people say they were concerned that the whole cloud paradigm would never work as there is no way to move from cloud to cloud, to have clouds interact etc. In other words, those people were in favor of cloud standards and open cloud technology. The recent announcements of Sun were the response those people were waiting for. So the screaming loud out against cloud standards initiatives, I’m not sure if that is a smart move by these guys. True, they are big and they have some power in the market, but aren’t they going to rule themselves out of the cloud market? Aren’t they spreading the wrong message? To me it sounds like they are afraid open clouds will make it harder for them to retain to their market shares. They prefer proprietary clouds, which to me are no clouds at all … What we need to convince the market to move into the clouds is a a choice, both when starting to build a cloud offering but also at later stages. I thought we had learned our lesson about proprietary systems by now. Openness gives choice. Openness creates opportunities. Openness stimulates innovation. Openness is good. But hey, I’m just a guy trying to kill time on a plane. I’ve probably got it all wrong.

~ by tomleyden on April 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
