Attempt Two

So this is attempt two for my own Cloud Blog. I’ve been thinking things over and as much as I like NephOS, Q-layer’s Cloud Platform, I thought I’d be able to be a lot more objective editing a Blog that is not related to Q-layer. No Worries, I’ll still refer to our solution plenty enough and there will be occasional technology updates on the stuff we’re doing back in Lochristi. Maybe more than you’d want me to. So why the decision to take this away from the Q-layer corporate site then? Ok, let me give an example:

Imagine, just imagine (of course) I had attended a really lame presentation by Microsoft’s on their latest Cloud solution and imagine (still – I don’t think this would ever happen) I wanted to write about how Microsoft of all companies should be able to do a lot better. Well, writing with a Q-layer hat on, that would make me a lame Q-layer FUD writer. With no hat on at all, that would make me a … well probably just a lame blogger. But I’m sure you get the picture!

So what is this Blog about?

1. Technology from a non-geek (a.k.a. marketing) point of view
(And as I happen to be working in a Cloud company, the bulk of my technology writing will be Cloud Computing)

Cloud computing is a hype – no secrets about that. As a marketing professional, I know a hype when I see one. But I also know that quite a few hypes have changed the way we live and work. Just think about the internet, the iPhone, etc. So will cloud computing. Of course, several companies in the IT industry – ranging from top 5 players to fledgling start-ups – use and abuse the phrase “Cloud Computing” to get a piece of the pie, but for some of us, it is an essential element in our strategy. In this blog I will keep you updated on the Q-layer technology and how it fits in the most recent market trends, and I plan to share my insights on new trends and products out there as well.

2. CloudCamp!

As the Product Marketing Manager at Q-layer, an early innovator in cloud computing, I am heavily involved in cloud evangelization. That means I’ll be spending quite some time on something called CloudCamp.

CloudCamps, started by David Nielsen and Reuven Cohen in the US, are unconventional gatherings of cloud computing enthusiasts and IT professionals that are looking for answers regarding this topic. As one of the first companies to offer a solution that enables data center managers to turn their infrastructure into a Cloud, we thought it was our duty to help bringing these CloudCamps to Europe. Together with some other cloud enthusiasts, we organized the first European CloudCamp in Brussels in October and more events have already been scheduled. I’ll keep you updated on these events as soon as we can share more details.

3. Marketing

Everyone can do marketing – or at least that is what they think. I’ve been involved in marketing for almost 10 years now and the least I can say is that it has been interesting. Although the underlying philosophy remains the same (4P’s, SWOTs, FBC’s, a good mix etc.), a decent amount of flexibility is required to adapt to the remaining parameters: startup vs. enterprise, SW vs. HW, type of industry, budgets, target markets etc. Now and then I’ll share some of my experience on this.

4. Everyday life

I’ll try to keep the junk part for my Facebook pages (that’s what Facebook is all about, isn’t it?). But well, do expect some more elaborate pieces on … anything as well.

Enjoy the reading!

~ by tomleyden on November 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
